SC Bar Foundation
About iolta Grants History Giving to the Foundation Honoring



DuRant Distinguished Public Service Award

Annually, the Bar Foundation awards the DuRant Distinguished Public Service Award. Recipients are nominated and selected by their professional peers, establishing this recognition as one of the most prestigious statewide award members of the Bar can bestow on a fellow attorney. Selection criteria include meritorious service to the law and the community. Eligibility is limited to living members of the South Carolina Bar. Sitting judges and current public office holders are not eligible however, past service in such positions will be considered. Traditionally, the award recipient is honored at the Bar Convention’s plenary luncheon each January.

The Foundation established the award in 1980 to honor the memory of Charlton DuRant, a well-known Manning attorney who served as state senator and special associate justice of the SC Supreme Court.

Nominations are normally due in November of each year. The application will be posted on this site and should be sent via email to

The DuRant Legacy
David W. Robinson, 1980
Walton J. McLeod Jr., 1981
Robert M. Figg Jr., 1982
Thomas H. Pope, 1983
J.D. Todd Jr., 1984
Hugh L. Willcox, 1985
C. Bruce Littlejohn, 1986
Heyward E. McDonald, 1987
Charles W. Knowlton, 1988
E.P. “Ted” Riley, 1989
Augustine T. Smythe, 1990
Harry M. Lightsey, 1991
Terrell L. Glenn, 1992
A. Frank Lever, 1993
Morris D. Rosen, 1994
Ellen Hines Smith, 1995
Claude M. Scarborough Jr., 1996
Julius W. McKay, 1997
A. Lee Chandler, 1998
I.S. Leevy Johnson, 1999
William L. Pope, 2000
H. Simmons Tate Jr., 2001
Joseph H. McGee, 2002
Alex M. Sanders Jr., 2003
Eugene N. “Nick” Zeigler Jr., 2004
Ernest A. Finney Jr., 2005
Leo H. Hill, 2005
Julian J. Nexsen, 2006
B. Henderson Johnson Jr., 2007
David L. Freeman, 2008
G. Dewey Oxner Jr., 2009
Richard W. Riley, 2010
David A. Merline, 2011

Harold W. Jacobs, 2012

Mark W. Buyck Jr., 2013




Home Home